Engraved with the names of the U.S. National Men’s Singles Champions from 1937 through the beginning of the Open Era in 1969, this trophy was lifted in triumph by many of the biggest names in men’s tennis. Don Budge was the first winner, in 1937 and 1938, and Stan Smith was the final winner of this trophy which ceased to be played in 1969 because of the advent of the Open Era. Within the 30 years of this trophy representing the biggest event in United States tennis, icons Frank Parker, Jack Kramer, Pancho Gonzalez, Frank Sedgman, and Tony Trabert comprise the exclusive group of those who won the title twice.

More from Golden Age
1912 Davis Cup Trophy presented to F. Gordon Lowe
1915-1925 Newport Casino Invitational Lawn Tennis Tournament Challenge Cup
1923-1989 Wightman Cup

View More from Golden Age