1912 Davis Cup Trophy presented to F. Gordon Lowe

This sterling silver kangaroo trophy was awarded to F. Gordon Lowe, member of the British Isles team, following their victory over the Australasian (Australia and New Zealand) team in Melbourne in 1912 at the Davis Cup. Hall of Famer Arthur Gore (pictured above), along with James Parke, Charles Dixon, and Herbert Roper Barrett all competed in the semifinals against France and the finals against the Australasian team. The Davis Cup was founded primarily by Dwight Davis in 1900, starting as a friendly competition between the United States at the British Isles. Over the years, more countries entered the tournament, and a small tournament between two nations evolved into a highly respected international tennis event featuring over 150 nations.

More from Golden Age
1915-1925 Newport Casino Invitational Lawn Tennis Tournament Challenge Cup
1923-1989 Wightman Cup
1919-1925 Palm Beach Tennis Club Women’s Singles Championships Challenge Trophy

View More from Golden Age