1926-1936 United States Lawn Tennis Association U.S. National Championships Men’s Singles Challenge Trophy

During the 1920s, international men’s tennis was dominated primarily by the France’s “Four Musketeers,” Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, and René Lacoste. Lacoste won the USLTA Men’s Singles Trophy in 1926 and 1927, followed by Cochet in 1928. However, the 1930s saw the rise of several other players, notably including Bill Tilden and Fred Perry. Having won the championship twice before in 1933 and 1934, Fred Perry retired this challenge trophy in 1936 with his 2–6, 6–2, 8–6, 1–6, 10–8 victory over Don Budge.

More from Golden Age
1912 Davis Cup Trophy presented to F. Gordon Lowe
1915-1925 Newport Casino Invitational Lawn Tennis Tournament Challenge Cup
1923-1989 Wightman Cup

View More from Golden Age