1984-1994 Virginia Slims Championships Women’s Singles Trophy

When the Original 9 signed $1 contracts in 1970, a sponsorship from Virginia Slims was procured by Gladys Heldman to sponsor the inaugural Houston Invitational Tournament. Virginia Slims would go on to be a key title sponsor as the women’s tour grew over the next two decades, evolving into the current WTA tour. Virginia Slims maintained a title-sponsorship over the season-end championship title until 1994. From 1984-1994, four players won the championships, Martina Navratilova, Gabriela Sabatini, Monica Seles, and Stefanie Graf.

More from Open Era
1923-1989 Wightman Cup
1969-1981 Gorham Governor’s Trophy
1971 Virginia Slims Championship Trophy presented to Billie Jean King

View More from Open Era