1988 Australian Open Women’s Singles Championship Trophy presented to Stefanie Graf

Stefanie Graf defeated Chris Evert in the final, 6–1, 7–6(4) to win the women’s singles tennis title at the 1988 Australian Open. It was her first Australian Open title, her second major title overall, and she became the first German woman to win the Australian Open.

Photo courtesy of AP Photo/Russell McPhedran

More from Open Era
1923-1989 Wightman Cup
1969-1981 Gorham Governor’s Trophy
1971 Virginia Slims Championship Trophy presented to Billie Jean King

View More from Open Era